Tuesday, April 15, 2008

Opening Day report: Cycle News Online 3/29/08


Gainey Grabs Opening Day Gold



When torrential rains forced the postponement of the regularly scheduled opening day Saturday, March 29 became the new opening day for the 2008 Raceway Park motocross season. Now in its 33rd year of motocross racing in central New Jersey, Raceway Park has survived. Every winter there are rumors that the facility will be sold to property developers, but when March comes around, motocross racing continues.

With the housing market in the Northeast in turmoil and talks of the economy in a recession, some might wonder how many people could still afford to race. Well, nearly 400 racers showed up to compete on the last Saturday of March with little worry of the economic outlook ahead.
In his second season as an Expert racer, Ryan Gainey (80) showed everyone that he was the man to beat this season. Gainey was a perfect four for four, taking the overall victories in both the 250 and Open Expert classes on Saturday. In the first 250 Expert moto, Kawasaki jockey Jacob Morrison from Wareham, Massachusetts, was second and Honda rider Anthony Roth was third. The second moto saw KPS/Montgomeryville Cycle Center-backed Dakota Kessler in second and Gainey’s Mount Holly KTM teammate Ronnie Stewart in third; Stewart’s 4-3 score gave him second overall, and Bromley Suzuki-backed Barry Carsten’s 5-4 score netted him third overall.

The Open Expert class was again a Gainey benefit, but this time Morrison’s 2-3 motos got him second overall for the day, and Carsten was again third overall.

Carsten was able to take home some first-place money by winning both motos of the Over 40 Expert class, besting longtime Raceway Park competitor Jerry Seip, on his Cooper’s Honda, and Kawasaki-mounted Carlo Coen, who were second and third, respectively.

Another opening day has come and gone at Raceway Park, just as it has for the last 32 years. With the large opening-day turnout, this season is shaping up to be a record-breaking one. For more information and to see the complete schedule, check out Raceway Park on the web at www.racewaypark.com.

Photo gallery from the race Here: http://lukaitisphoto.smugmug.com/gallery/4625144_2Ea3A

50 (4-8) OIL-INJ/AUTO/SHIFT: 1. J. Ryder Fox; 2. Ryan Trevelise (KTM).
50 (7-8) STK: 1. Jack Pagano; 2. T.J. Wittmer; 3. Alexander Perzan; 4. Joseph Mancini (Suz).
65 (7-9): 1. Brandon Hartranft (KTM); 2. Trevor Pritchard (KTM); 3. Justin Tompkins (Suz); 4. Joseph Tait; 5. Peter Davis (KTM).
65 (10-11): 1. Justin Cooper (KTM); 2. Jared Jennings (Kaw); 3. Joseph Galbraith (KTM); 4. Brian Engdahl (KTM); 5. Noah Faccone (KTM).
85 (9-11): 1. Darian Robinson (Suz); 2. Jacob Hartranft (Yam); 3. Jared Jennings (Kaw); 4. Brandon Hartranft (Yam); 5. Justin Cooper (KTM).
85 (9-13) JR MINI: 1. Darian Robinson (Suz); 2. Robert Piazza (Kaw); 3. Kevin Tompkins (Suz); 4. James Coen (Kaw); 5. Jacob Hartranft (Yam).
85 (12-15): 1. Robert Piazza (Kaw); 2. Kevin Tompkins (Suz); 3. James Coen (Kaw); 4. Elliot Phelps (Kaw); 5. Aaron Zielfelder (Hon).
85 (12-16) S/MINI: 1. Austin Phelps (Kaw); 2. Michael Shea (Hon); 3. Kevin Tompkins (Suz); 4. Britt Fealner (Hon); 5. Brett Cooper (Yam).
125 2-STRK: 1. Evan Thompson (Yam); 2. Tom Duggan (Hon).
250 NOV: 1. Christopher Duymich (Hon); 2. Thomas McDaniel (Kaw); 3. Grant Keeler (Yam); 4. Michael Wanser (Kaw); 5. Timmy Vogel (Suz).
250 AM: 1. A.J. Catanzaro (Kaw); 2. Kyle Sidle (Suz); 3. Damon Rummel (Hon); 4. Kevin M. Hudson (Hon); 5. Bryan Weimer (Yam).
250 EX: 1. Ryan Gainey (KTM); 2. Ronnie Stewart (Suz); 3. Barry Carsten (Suz); 4. Anthony Roth (Hon); 5. Jacob Morrison (Kaw).
OPEN NOV: 1. Dylan Thompson (Kaw); 2. Patrick Desantis (Suz); 3. Zach Tussel (Yam); 4. Evan Barnikow (Suz); 5. Jonathan Reggio (Yam).
OPEN AM: 1. Marshall Hurd (Kaw); 2. Matthew Fisk (Yam); 3. Damon Rummel (Hon); 4. Joey Peditto (Kaw); 5. Joseph Seabridge (Yam).
OPEN EX: 1. Ryan Gainey (KTM); 2. Jacob Morrison (Kaw); 3. Barry Carsten (Suz); 4. Dakota Kessler (Hon); 5. Bryan Wallace (KTM).
GIRLS (9-15): 1. Mackenzie Lindeman (Kaw).
WMN (12+): 1. Samantha Fritz (Hon); 2. Jenna Smith (Hon); 3. Sonia Williams (Hon); 4. Rachel Engdahl (Suz); 5. Marla Phelps (Kaw).
SCHBY (12-16) 2-STRK: 1. Christopher Duymich (Hon); 2. Jake Abbott (Kaw); 3. Dominick Guastella (Suz); 4. Michael Shea (KTM); 5. Britt Fealner (Hon).
SCHBY (14-16) 4-STRK: 1. A.J. Catanzaro (Kaw); 2. Jordan Cote (Kaw); 3. Austin Phelps (Kaw); 4. Damon Rummel (Hon); 5. Jake Abbott (Kaw).
CLGBY (14-24): 1. Evan Forosisky (Kaw); 2. Charles Fox (Hon); 3. Kevin M. Hudson (Hon); 4. Matthew Fisk (Yam); 5. Michael Sowa (Kaw).
25+ NOV: 1. Jerry Williamson (Kaw).
25+ EX: 1. Greg Lurch (Yam); 2. Darren Edsall (Hon); 3. Christopher Chomko (Hon); 4. James McIlvaine (Hon); 5. Brian Smith (Kaw).
30+ NOV: 1. Gerry Scaletti (Hon); 2. James Pizzo (Kaw); 3. Bill Mazzucco (Hon); 4. Jerry Williamson (Kaw); 5. William Lightner (KTM).
30+ AM: 1. Michael Lewis (Hon); 2. Dean Bush Sr. (Hon); 3. Mike Biondo (Hon); 4. Jason Baratta (Hon); 5. Marc Ondy (Hon).
30+ EX: 1. Carlo Coen (Kaw); 2. Darren Edsall (Hon); 3. James McIlvaine (Hon); 4. Jerry Seip (Hon); 5. Brian Smith (Kaw).
40+ NOV: 1. James Pizzo (Kaw); 2. Jim Smith (Yam); 3. William Lightner (KTM); 4. Richard Hernandez (Hon).
40+ AM: 1. Mark Rinaldi (Kaw); 2. John Tavernese (Yam); 3. Scott Sampson (Hon); 4. Joseph Dublas (Yam); 5. Dean Bush Sr. (Hon).
40+ EX: 1. Barry Carsten (Suz); 2. Jerry Seip (Hon); 3. Carlo Coen (Kaw); 4. James McIlvaine (Hon); 5. Jim Kapitan (Hon).
45+: 1. Jerry Seip (Hon); 2. Joseph Fritz (Hon); 3. Rick Rosseter (Kaw); 4. Stanley Poulsen (Hon); 5. Ken Bordzuk (Hon).

No comments:

NJ Motocross.....the blog

This blog is written and maintained by Scott Lukaitis and Lukaitis Photo. If you like what you see check our associate sites at njmotocross.com or lukaitisphoto.com. Questions or comments can be addressed to me directly at scott@njmotocross.com Thanks and enjoy!

GO TO NJ Motocross NOW